shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Looking back

As I said yesterday, I am marking 3 years as part of the blip community today, not yesterday, due to my pedantry! My wee Lego folk were happy to help me with today's blip on the theme of looking back and also looking forward. Three years of blips, without a missed day, far from what I thought would be the case in the beginning. It has become such a habit these days, I am hard pushed to imagine a day when I don't take a photo. Thanks to all who popped by to offer their congratulations yesterday, I hope to get back to you individually later this week. I love being a part of this wonderful community. I have my stories to tell about my life, you have your stories about your lives. Thank you for sharing them with me and with everyone else. It is a privilege to be even a small, virtual, part of your world.

It is strange to think that I will have these blips to look back on in times far ahead, though they are not even close to being a diary, sometimes I intentionally don't post what is going on for a variety of reasons, sometimes I forget, and every now and then you get me on my soapbox - thank you for sticking by me! I was speaking at our church prayer meeting this evening about my trip to Bangladesh and Thailand. It already seems so long ago when I was there, but the stories I tell are real, and they are important. Like those stories in my presentations, these blips are my stories, the stories I can tell, moments which matter to me, and sometimes the stories I can't help but tell, because I believe that I have a responsibility to myself and those around me. We were thinking tonight about the dignity inherent in Christian teaching, about the incredible power and freedom of being created in the image of God, worthy of dignity and respect because God made each of us unique and valuable, and loved us so much that Jesus chose to die for us. Easter was a few days ago, but I can only do my best to live my life each day in that reality. Apologies if this isn't exactly coherent, I do tend to get philosophical at times, and blip anniversaries are a good opportunity to take stock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.