I love Soda Bread.

To me it is real bread with a nutty texture and quite delicious. For years I have bought it and never thought any more about it. Then . . . Paul Hollywood came along and in one short TV programme showed how simple it was to make Soda Bread. I bought the book, found buttermilk on the supermarket shelves and I was away.

I now make a loaf every so often and I have never bought any since. Plain flour, wholemeal flour, bicarbonate of soda, salt, buttermilk, tiny bit of mixing (none of that tiresome kneading lark), shape, flour, bake for 30 minutes and hey presto – a loaf. Magic!

I had to make a loaf today, as I had buttermilk in the fridge, but we are away this evening for a few days, so most of the loaf will go in the freezer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.