Tetouan to Chechaouan...

I woke up this morning, having thought I’d slept in. It seems not, we were up an hour early so we *think* that we’re back on UK time. I remain unconvinced given my phone usually changes automatically but we’re in the arse end of nowhere now and I have no service at all so it could be right.

I got dressed and took my stuff to the trailer then when I got to the front door I couldn’t get out. The smell. I didn’t mention the smell here yesterday. I can’t really put my finger on what it is, whether it’s a shit smell or a piss smell but it’s fairly unpleasant and was bad indoors this morning, so I really wanted to get outside in the hope that my very own brand of fresh air would calm my somewhat fraught nerves for the day ahead. I’m not really painting a very good picture, my day did improve but my total and utter meltdown first thing this morning is one I hope not to repeat anytime soon. I realise that they need to lock the doors at night but to lock us in from the outside? With no apparent means of escape just gave me the willies. Although it appears there was a door through DAA’s room and an adjacent fire exit, it just made me feel totally unsafe and my rational brain had fucked off with the local mafia. Not only had they taken our passports when we arrived at the hotel last night (which is apparently standard practice), my total lack of sleep due to my worrying about the return journey through the border at Tangiers, coupled with passing the random guy with a gun on a street corner on the way in last night, closely followed by the truck carrying what could only be described as a team of wannabe kidnappers in their camouflage gear just made me beyond uncomfortable.

I sat outside and waited for the boys to have breakfast and tried to compose myself. Uneasy and unsafe is how I felt but I can’t really explain why. Other than the whole border episode, no-one has been anything other than friendly towards us. I suspect I’m not dressed appropriately and I’d guess they all think I’m a bit of a slut (quiet at the back!) and continue to stare so I think I really need to find something long sleeved and with no cleavage for tomorrow. I’m currently wearing a dress to my feet and a cardi cause it’s freezing at night. The women are pretty much covered from head to foot and I’m in my flip flops with big hair.

We stopped for coffee today in a little place about halfway to the hotel and I suspect we’ll be the talk of the town for a while. The level of poverty is apparent but the contradiction of the people is fascinating. DAA asked me last night if I was enjoying the challenge and at that point I was a little incredulous. Yesterday was beyond challenging, from the ferry crossing with my terrible sea legs, to the border episode, I can safely say that I didn’t find it a challenge. I’m not sure how I’d describe it but I didn’t enjoy any of it. I’m pretty sure my Dad didn’t enjoy having to put up with me being so uptight either but I guess he’s had 41 years of that so took it in his stride.

We got to the hotel at lunchtime so we had our picnic lunch and they went on to cycle another 50kms while I stayed at the hotel and had a couple of hours to sort out the washing, catch up on the admin and just have a little bit of time to myself. Campbell asked me the other night what I missed the most and I said my bed and my duvet and my boy but actually, I think what I miss most is my own time. I’ve not really stopped the whole time we’ve been away and I’ve not spent any time alone. My ‘me’ time is really important to me and I struggle hugely being with people all the time so today has been a welcome few hours of my own time. Being naked in the hotel room, having a shower and being able to drink coffee without swishing it down in record time and getting on the road again. I look forward to catching up with alone time when I get home but for the moment I’m going to make an attempt to enjoy the experience Morocco has to offer and hope that I’ve managed to recharge my rational brain and try to stop worrying.

I’m now sitting in the hotel lobby having a ciggie and catching up on all my blips – smoking indoors is novel! My Dad and the boys have all gone to bed, taking advantage of the time difference. It’s been a bit of a trauma having really poor wifi along the way when I’m trying to upload photos and write notes. Not blipping on a daily basis makes it difficult to remember where we’ve been so I’m scribbling in my notebook as we go. I shall be in bed before midnight and enjoy sleeping in a bed with an actual duvet!! Go Hotel Atlas!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.