Marching for ANZAC DAY

Across Australia and New Zealand thousands of people marched today. They took part for a host of reasons. Some participated in honour of lost comrades or out of respect for the sacrifice of family members & cherished ancestors or as a stand for world peace. The first and second world war veterans that I saw parade when I was young are gone now. Today's thinning ranks of old men are the soldiers who fought the war of MY youth - Vietnam.

I watched the Sydney event on television as I have done, most years and I was impressed by the way its character and purpose had changed. Old men, young men, women, children, veterans, serving troops, the healthy and the sick - all took part. I notice how the servicemen and veterans of so many nations now march along side the Australians and New Zealanders. I saw marchers from Britain, the USA, Vietnam, China, Russia, The Philippines, India, South Africa, Korea, Serbia, France and so many others. Of note was the appearance of marchers from Turkey, the nation against whom the original ANZAC Gallipoli campaign had been waged.

Above all else was the spirit of unity ... in honour of the fallen from all wars and every where ..... we will remember them.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.