Blood-red lilies

It's Anzac Day today and we spent it as we usually do, very quietly, reflecting on family members who served in the 2 Wars. My own family, being English, obviously served in the British Forces; but many of the Rower's family served in the Australian forces.

I have been hunting desperately for a photo of my mother - which I know is here somewhere, but I can't find it. She's in her Land Army uniform. Which she always said was a bit of a laugh. They had one hat between six of them, and they each had their photo taken, all taking turns to wear "The Hat". She looked pretty spiffy though, I always thought.

Anyway I can't find it for the moment.

We went for a walk in the Park this afternoon, and this bright red colour caught our eye. Anyone who knows the Australian Bush before the Autumn rains will know what I mean, when I say all you can see are dry brownish hues - very little green, and tons and tons of dry grass and sticks. So this blood red colour stood out so much, we thought it was red bits of plastic left by the Rangers for some reason. As we got closer we saw it was indeed flowers.

And I thought - how appropriate for today. Flowers growing in a dead landscape - what a sign of hope that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.