Nature and Identity ...

Today, we are asked to present an image dealing with the topic of Nature and Identity.

As the mother of three sons and the grandmother of two boys, the whole realm of infant and child femininity is somewhat unfamiliar to me. I am very used to practical plaid and denim, no-nonsense corduroy and fleece, sturdy sneakers and skateboard shoes. But ruffles and lace? Ribbons and pleats? Scallops and smocking? Flowers and polka dots? There's a whole world of hitherto untapped shopping to be done!

This summer, we will be anxiously awaiting the arrival of our first Granddaughter, and I can hardly contain myself. I have already bought the most adorable hand-smocked and embroidered dress and a little cardigan complete with flower-shaped buttons to go over it, and hand smocked bloomers to go underneath. This week, I simply could NOT resist these adorable little shoes. And naturally, they had to have something to go with them, so a little blue and white polka dot dress with matching bloomers ... and a blue cardi ... oh, and those adorable wee white socks with the scalloped cuffs edged in blue had to be included too.

Isn't it funny how we are programmed to dress little boys one way and little girls another. I know that girls can (and do!) wear denim overalls, shorts and T-shirts, and plaid flannel with just as much elan as boys do, but oh how I am enjoying the prospect of a little pink, a few ribbons, and some ruffles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.