BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: 29w2d pregnant

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for four years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

A day in hospital, and basically I am being kept in indefinitely until they can either stabilise my blood pressure (and then maybe send me home for a bit) or deliver me. But a few days in hospital are certain, probably at least a week.

It is very boring and there’s a lot of being poked and prodded at all times of day and night.

I was put into a single room after the first night which is nice and I can spread out a bit and sleep a bit better – control my own lights and so on.

The blood pressure is high and fluctuating and I am getting other symptoms of pre-eclampsia.

It seems to be quite serious and I am now on quite a range of drugs including a lot more labetalol and also something new to me called Nifedipine – of which I have had both a fast acting and slow acting version. None of it is working in any permanent way.

Trying to get used to living here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.