BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: 29w5d pregnant

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for four years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

Some days the doctors are quite positive and think my blood pressure might settle down, but not today's doctor. She felt I should prepare myself to be in hospital until I give birth, however long that might be. Hopefully weeks - but they don't really seem to think so. It'll be a C-section. Soon.

She also requested two things that are very tiny little things that make me disproportionally uncomfortable. First I have to wear these knee length compression socks to stop getting DVT. This is good, obviously, but I hate wearing anything on my feet at the best of times. Socks in bed makes me shudder.

She also asked me to take my rings off before they had to be cut off. Again, a good thing, but I never take them off so it feels a bit sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.