Avoiding the Gas Works...

Wisely delayed getting a Blip as the forecast was for perhaps a glint of late sun, after a day of heavy rain.

As a pedestrian, it's really annoying when pavements are dug up, a big hole with a crappy sign from the a gas company saying that pedestrians have to use the other side of the road - for wheelchair users it must be a total nightmare.

When this pavement leads to an underpass that goes under a dual carriageway and busy ring-road, that diversion adds a lot of annoying unnecessary extra footsteps. I look up at the horizon, slightly above me. On the bank, the roadside, are these dandelions glinting against the late sun, filtering through a dark tree.

Every time a vehicle passed, (behind the stems) which was very frequently, the light source was blocked. The scene did not look like it does here, but even with spot-metering, the tendency is for under exposure, against the light like this.

I took loads, which took ages and none were quite what I wanted. The wrong placing, too strong a light source, all sorts of things, rather frustrating but I knew the potential was there.

The Tamron SP 70-300mm VC lens used at max aperture, to keep those light blobs as soft as possible, has performed brilliantly - this has not had any post-sharpening.

LARGE

After my oh-so colourful fisheye Blip of oilseed rape yesterday, this yo-yo's to the other end of the focal length scale and is almost monochromatic. Typecast, me? I certainly hope not!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.