mverivaki

By mverivaki

Baskets

i bought a beautiful hand-woven basket from this beautiful lady

i asked her if she made them herself, and she told me that her husband makes them - she used to make them but now her hands are very tired (she showed me the veins sticking out below the fingers), as she explained that it takes great δύναμη to work the cane

i wondered what the cane was - it's from thessaloniki, she told me, it called σουσιά, and sometimes a combinaton of σουσιά and λυγαριά are used

i asked her if she wouldn't mind my taking a photograph of her becuase i thought she was very beautiful, and she asked me to wait till she adjusted her scarf round her head

the baskets are extremely well-priced, depending on size, anything from 6 euro to 10 euro - as i walked through the street market today, people stopped me to admire it and asked me where i got it from

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.