For the future

I had a surgery on Gigha yesterday and this morning , along with some of the island children and at the invitation of the Gigha Development Trust, I planted a dawn redwood in Achamore Gardens both to celebrate the continuing restoration of this important attraction (which is benefiting from generous gifts of plants from many other gardens and from individuals) and to mark once again the tremendous success of the buy out of the island by the community and the prospects it gives for the whole population, but particularly for the young.

I then got a chance to see how the gardens are being taken forward , building on the famous Horlick's collection and I also went to look at the island's new wind turbine, , added in the last few months to the famous three "dancing ladies" - all generating power and revenue for the community.

The island was Inspirational and beautiful as ever. I always come away encouraged.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.