IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Young roe deer in the garden

So I had recently got out of bed and was pottering about in my trackies and thinking about making a cup of tea, when I saw some movement outside the window in the early morning mist. A toffee coloured creature which I first took for a diminutive donkey (I didn't have my glasses on!) was rubbing its forehead vigorously against a young tree. Jess had her iphone out in a flash and had taken about thirty pictures of it while I was rummaging around looking for my camera (where is your camera when you need it in a hurry?) and asking her not to frighten it off by moving too quickly.
I did at last find my camera. This was the best of a handful of quick snaps I managed to take.

From the Wildlife Trust website:

A slender, medium-sized deer with short antlers and no tail. Roe Deer are mostly brown in colour, turning reddish in the summer and darker grey in the winter. They have a paler, buff patch around the rump.
Our most common native deer, Roe Deer tend to be solitary in summer, but can form small, loose groups in winter. The males have relatively short antlers, typically with six points. They begin to grow their antlers in November, shedding the velvet from them in the spring. By Summer, they are ready for the rutting season. After mating, they shed their antlers in October and begin to grow a new set. Roe Deer live in areas of mixed countryside, with farmland, grassland, heathland and woodland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.