Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Difficult times.

During the first world war thousands of women volunteered to serve as auxillary nurses in the military hospitals. One of them was my maternal grandfather's sister, Lilly. She worked throughout the war in the Honley Auxiliary Military Hospital in West Yorkshire. The hospital wards were set up in the Congregational Chapel and Sunday School. I attended the school throughout my childhood, with no knowledge whatsoever of the suffering that it had witnessed.

Sadly, Lilly didn't live for long after the war; she died in 1921, aged only 33, from one of the infectious diseases that were such killers in those pre-antibiotic days.

I was out of touch for a couple of days but I have back-blipped empty graves and relationships.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.