Santa Eulalia

This is the former monastery where we are staying tonight before the final leg of our three-day drive tomorrow. It was 28C when we arrived, but mercifully cooling down a little this evening.

We had a minor event at a service stop on the autopista between Barcelona and Valencia, when J stayed with the car as I went into the shop. We are well aware of the bandits that operate on these motorways, friends of ours having been stopped and held up at gunpoint. With his friend lurking in the background a man approached the car and knocked on J's window, indicating that she should get out. She immediately locked herself in and made it clear he should go forth and multiply. He pointed towards the rear wheel - a common trick. You get out to take a look and they snatch your bags. J firmly shook her head and gave him the Glasgow evil eye.

He gave up then, and when I returned, they scuttled away among the cars. J was shaken, and angry - as was I. I started up and circled the car park. The one who had approached the car hid himself, and the other covered his face as I slowed down. I was very tempted to take a photograph, and was wishing I had my baseball bat in the boot. But in the end did the sensible thing and drove off.

J did absolutely the right thing. It really pays to be aware.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.