Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

I Have a Solo

Yes, it's true. I have a full-fledged solo part and you are looking at it above -- the cuckoo in the Toy Symphony. The Toy Symphony has been attributed to Haydn, but from what I gather, the general consensus is that it was the work of Leopold Mozart, Wolfgang's father. This particular YouTube clip gives the credit to Haydn.

The toys in the symphony include: the cuckoo, a ratchet, a nightingale, triangle, and drum. You can see the ratchet, or rattle part above, and a big thank you to Rich for the loan of his ratchet noise maker. It did its job very well during tonight's rehearsal. I've been sent home with a recorder to practice my two notes, but I may suggest using my Mexican clay ocarina instead. It is much easier for me to get a clear, bright and in-tune sound out of it.

So far I'll be playing cello, piano, and cuckoo in our upcoming performance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.