May Challenge; Mayflower

It’s May. And an idea has finally flowered. The postman’s just delivered this bicycle frame. My need to build a new bike started to grow around Christmas time. But the wet winter kept it dormant. Now, with the prospect of better days to come, this need has finally come into bloom.

This won’t be just any old bike though - I’m going to fit an electric motor to it. This is heresy to many in the cycling world - a bit like when Dylan went electric. But now that I’ve hung up my lycra for good, I don’t care. I’ve finally moved into the 4th age of bicycle man;

1st Age: toddler. You don’t care what it looks like and have no idea what it cost.

2nd Age; young man. You start to care about what it looks like and become concerned about cost.

3rd Age; MAMIL (middle-aged man in lycra). Looks are everything and you don’t care what it costs.

4th Age; pensioner. You don’t care what it looks like and can’t remember what it cost.

I’ve decided to call this bike Mayflower, so that I can enter the May girls challenge. Over the next few weeks I’ll polish my spanners and get down to a serious bit of bike-fettling. I will blip the progress of Mayflower from time to time.

First job is to unwrap it. Probably won't blip that though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.