my name is not Liz Imbrie

By LizImbrie

Happy Birthday to ... us

It was my birthday today.

A birthday that started, at 27 minutes past midnight, with giving birth to Dexter John Robert Kemmer. Born after just 6 hours (see yesterday's blip) weighing a healthy 7lbs and 15oz.

Dex and I were moved through to the recovery ward around 4am and Sam had to go home and come back again at 9am. Although Dexter slept through the night, his parents didn't. I spent the whole night just staring at him. I think I must've got an hour.

The rest of the day disappeared in a flurry of texts, facebook updates, photos, phone calls, visits from grandparents and health professionals. Considered going home today but decided it would be best to stay an extra night.

I will never have another birthday to myself ever again. I am trying not to mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.