Myhotel

I had to be at Heathrow first thing, this morning, so last night I stayed in a Travel Lodge at some services on the M40. The room was clean, the shower was good, the pillows were rather meagre and the whole experience was generally spartan but I had no complaints.

This afternoon, I came down to Brighton for a meeting and then I went to check into Myhotel. I guess calling the hotel that seemed like a great idea for at least the duration of the marketing meeting but in practice it's just irritating:

"Where are you staying?"
"Myhotel."
"Yes, obviously, but which one?"

You just end up giving people the impression that you're a bit rubbish at conversation.

The hotel itself, though, is beautiful, particularly the rooms (or at least the one I stayed in). Imaginatively laid out, thoughtfully designed and full of nice little touches, I almost wanted to stay there for the evening.

In fact, I spent the evening with an old friend of mine, Ric, who was the bassist in the best band I was ever in. I hadn't seen him properly in over a year and we had a splendid evening of drinks and curry, finishing up in the bar at my hotel/Myhotel, which was great, if eye-wateringly expensive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.