Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

Walk before the rain started

Edited in the afternoon and I changed the photo!

Just as I finished publishing the photo of the day and had started the exercise routine for my hand and wrist, I began to hear this "water noise" somewhere in the house. Like someone was pouring water slowly from a large bucket or something like that. I listened for a while and thought to myself this was unusual and strange. I shouted to my husband "What is this water noise I hear?" He said he didn't know and I looked into the bedroom after checking both kitchen and bathroom. There I was greeted with a horrific sight! Water came pouring down from the ceiling and into my already soaked-through bed!! I panicked! Daníel panicked! Kári panicked! I called my mother and asked her to come right now with lots of buckets and help me! Daníel ran to ask the tenant on the second floor (the apartment above ours) if he knew what was going on and to check if he was alright. We thought maybe he could be injured or something since this was hot water coming down from the ceiling.
I discovered the water had also begun pouring down in the kitchen, just as my mother came to help us and a few minutes later my father arrived.
To cut a long story short: Insurance companies were called, a plumber came to fix the damaged pipe behind the shower on the second floor and my parents helped us get most of the mess organized and some containers put underneath the leaking ceiling. Thankfully the leaking stopped soon in the kitchen but I guess the ceiling is ruined. My bedroom ceiling is also ruined and probably our bed and some other stuff...I'm not sure how much damage there is yet. The insurance company will send someone over tomorrow morning to assess the damage.

Now I must empty my bedroom closets and try to get my nerves back to a calmer state...
Here is Kári in the bedroom and if you look closely you can see some water still pouring down from the light fixture, but it had almost stopped at this point.


-----------------------------------
Older entry, photo moved to Blipfolio in the afternoon:
I took a walk in Vaðlaheiði with Berglind and Elfa this morning and we were lucky because it started to rain just as we arrived back to the car.
The weather was lovely, warm and fresh after the rain during the night, and we took a few photos along the way.

Guess it's time now for some stretching and exercising of the wrist and then I'll try and get my husband to help me move along some decorating projects here at home. He and Kári assembled a Billy-shelf a few days ago and now it's time to get it up on the wall. Maybe we can also hang a few pictures while we're at it ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.