KariDi

By KariDi

Dear Scotland....

To Dumfries, dear Scotland.....

A beautiful day in Lockerbie & Dumfries on way to a great meeting with lovely D&G: Chamber of Arts, D&G Council & the brilliant Stovies talking about town centre regeneration, and more.

Then back to Edinburgh (on a slightly late train) for 'Dear Scotland' which was amazing - one of the best things I've ever seen. I loved it all (and cried during six out of the ten monologues....). Amongst my favourites were Peter Arnott's Sir Walter Scott - & his indignant claim to having invented Scotland while part of the Union and what are we doing thinking about leaving, Louise Welsh's Mary, Queen of Scots (lyrical and wonderful) and Gallery 9 by Zinnie Harris, which was powerful and utterly of the place. But my standout was Jo Clifford's Unamed Woman in 'Poets' Pub' - with an excellent performance by Sally Reid - challenging, powerful and beautiful. I could've used a moment to compose myself before Robert Bontine Cunninghame Graham, performed by Tunji Kasim, sent us off with James Robertson's inspiring words.

I wish I could see them all again. I wish I'd caught Tour B too. I hope there's more of this, maybe in other galleries - quality performance in unexpected places. There's a chance to write your own 'Dear Scotland' letter too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.