Blue Planet Photography

By blueplanetphoto

Collection

I've had many collections through my life, and no doubt I will have others. From Odd Rods hotrod stickers (at the time they were made, mind you) to coins, shells, camera, and books. I don't have the Odd Rod stickers anymore, I sold off most of my coin collection years ago when that hobby industry was taken over by investors and it became too expensive to continue. I still acquire cameras and I have a nice collection of natural history books. But, the collection I'm most proud of and that has the most meaning to me is my collection of Arctic and Antarctic exploration books.

Sir Ernest Shackleton is one historical figure I admire (along with the members of his various crews) and he is the central figure around this collection. When I was in New Zealand, a highlight of my stay was a trip to the University of Cantebury Museum and the Hall of Antarctic Discovery. One day I'll get to Antarctica.

The jewels of my collection so far are: a First Edition of Fridtjof Nansen's Farthest North, a First Edition of Herbert Ponting's Great White South, about Scott's last expedition (Ponting was the official photographer). And an autographed edition of Skyward by Admiral Richard Byrd. In 2001 a book was published of Frank Hurley's photographs of Shackleton's famous Endurance expedition that included hundreds of amazing images.

Two of the best Antarctic stories are:

Endurance, the account of Shackleton's attempt to cross Antarctica from east to west, but ended up being a 3-year trial of survival on floating pack ice, an 800-mile open boat journey, and an incredible crossing of South Georgia Island to get rescue. Various books describe this, with Roland Huntford's "Shackleton" being the most detailed. Alfred Lansing has a book, as well as a first-hand account by Frank Worsely, ships captain on the expedition. A recent book called "Endurance" by Caroline Alexander is also very good, with photos as well.

The second is "The Worst Journey in the World" by Apsley Cherry-Garrard. He was a 20-something biologist on Scott's last expedition and he, zoologist Edward Wilson, and Henry "Birdie" Bowers embarked on a winter journey to observe emperor penguins and collect some eggs. It's an amazing story and has a great quote that I use a lot and get inspiration from:

"If you have the desire for knowledge
And the means to give it physical expression
Then go out and explore.
You will sledge nearly alone
But those with whom you sledge will not be shopkeepers."

These stories help to remind me that when I'm going through a bad patch or when I think I have it tough that comparatively I have absolutely nothing to bitch about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.