Preparations for dinner

I've spent most of today preparing a dinner party. This morning Mr hazelh and I went to the butcher, the market, and the supermarket together to buy the ingredients, and this afternoon I cooked. I've made asparagus soup from Carina's book (a very lengthy process) and pollo alla cacciatora from a recipe given to me by Mr hazelh's guitar mentor. Our friend J is bringing pudding. I also made melanzane alla parmigiana in advance to eat on Tuesday night when one of my PhD students is coming for dinner. Here's hoping everyone enjoys my creations.

These bluebells are from our garden.

No exercise today: It's my day off, which is just as well given (a) how much time it has taken to get everything ready for this evening and (b) my fragile state this morning after a great night out with some girlfriends at my friend E's house last night. I blame the Laphroaig in the home-made butterscotch ice cream (and not the Prosecco and white wine drunk in moderation).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.