AT HALF PAST EIGHT

I awoke and the day seemed grey and rainy again. It did not stop me to plant the new clematus Miss Bateman just under a tree at the hut.
Will be a nice surprise when Mischa will come here again and discover that I sew all kinds of summerflowers (I do hope they will show up after two weeks or so) and the clematis. I know she would like to have a magnolia and I would like it too but that can wait till autumn I think.
From reading the amazing book of Priestley (Angel Pavement), finding more about the author on Wikipedia and seeing a BBC filming of his play: 'An inspector calls' this morning I discovered that Priestley was highly interested in the phenomenon of time in our lives. I'll have to find out about it later I think
I remember still his novel Festival at Farbridge standing at my parents Bookshelf, the cover exited me a lot, but I could not read english at that time.
The flower in my blip of today is again a aquilegia flower.

My haiku:

Watching the white houses
I saw suddenly milling
The refugees of old times

And the proverb:

Rice for good luck and bauchless (old shoes) for bonny bairns.

1896 in A. Ceviot Proverbs, Proverbial expressions and Popular Rhymes of Scotland.
Refers to the custom of throwing rice and old shoes to a newly married couple.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.