analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

NY Icons. GX1, Voigtlander 75mm.

The photograph for today's Blip was a tough choice. I went with a friend to the Ground Zero Monument of 9/11/2001 in Lower Manhattan. There were iconic images to be had there for sure. But this place is a monument to such misery and horror which begot much more misery and horror for many more people, that I decided not to use those images. Then we went on the Staten Island ferry. On the way back to Manhattan - we couldn't believe it - there was a bridal party getting ready to have their marriage performed on the ferry's deck during the 15 minute crossing! It was a scene straight from a Woody Allen movie. I took a lot of photographs of the pair, the bride in a beautiful white gown with her veil, the groom all dapper in his formal attire, the wedding party dressed to the nines... But here was the tricky part: how to set the context of their nuptials in the Staten Island ferry terminal. I had to line them up with one of the signs in the background and I couldn't do it. The couple even posed for me when they saw I was photographing them but I couldn't portray the location. The photographs could be anywhere; it didn't work.
So I decided to publish this Blip of two New York icons: the tug boats that tirelessly work the harbor, and, of course, Lady Liberty. When I took the photograph there was a torrential downpour accompanying a thunderstorm. Lady Liberty tried to disappear into the rain cloud, but not quite. A perfect background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.