Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Mother's Day

My love to all the people whose relationships with their mothers are not depicted on greeting cards. To those whose mothers are no longer alive; to women who are not mothers or who have lived through the death of a child; to all the children who can't reach their mothers because their mothers are incarcerated, mentally ill, addicted, or demented; and to all the mothers whose children, for whatever reasons, are not forthcoming on official holidays: you are in good company. These holidays cause a great deal of suffering to those whose stories don't fit the picture book.

Recently GrOver asked me where I go to catch my breath. This was the first place that came to mind. It was a glorious spring day in Portland, and I went down to Cathedral Park, under the St. Johns Bridge among the impossibly sunny buttercups, and hummed Build Me Up Buttercup to myself.

Set.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.