annabelrosew

By annabelrosewats

Living on the Edge (The Balconies)

We all made use of the continental breakfast this morning. Best breakfast I have had in a while! We packed up and then walked along port fairy harbour. Watched some crazy surfers surfing next to the rocks with huge waves! Collected some cool shells on the rocks. We decided not to continue on the great ocean road and make our way up to The Grampians which is national park. Stopped at a big dam that father found very interesting!! Amazing drive through the mountains. Had a very late lunch at a little town called Halls Gap. We had a bit of fun with the Roos. Daddy give his cone to one of them. I tried to get a good picture of me jumping with them, haha!
Back on the road and our next stop was 'grand canyon'. Climbed up a bit of a dodgy rock...mother had left by this point!! But it made goodish photo! Then raced Father back to the car. Drove to Brooka lookout which was worth the drive as the view was incredible.
We made it to The Balconies in time before the sunset. Mother again left as I went to go and sit on the edge of one of the rocks with a huge, huge drop to the bottom. Father shouted at me when I shuffled forward to dangle my feet over the edge!
Drove to Horsham and stayed in majestic motel which we had been recommended by the people we met at The Balconies. Father and I went to get a Chinese takeaway and whilst waiting we walked to find a bottle shop but there were none around. We asked a man in a petrol station where the nearest bottle shop was and he said it would take a while to walk to one but we could 'have a canoodle on the way'. My dad said 'well, she's actually my daughter so I don't think that'll be happening' the guy then said 'oh well, whatever!!!' Little bit odd! Ate our Chinese in the motel and we started to watch The Cider House Rules but I went to sleep half way through!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.