Happy New Decade Blippers...

For those not in the know, the Loony Dook (Loony as in Lunatic and Dook as is Dunk) is a traditional swim in the River Forth off the beach at South Queensferry on New Years Day. It raises a lot of money for various charities and is generally done in fancy dress.

I was "maybe aye, maybe naw", going to dook this year. A late reprieve for the "Aye" campaign came in late last night when BigWeeTFP brother expressed interest. This was later quashed when said brother phoned about 8:00 this morning saying that he was just heading to bed. Ach well. I'm garnering interest for a 2011 Dook. Anybody in?

I headed down anyway and made my first expenditure of the year a donation to the Loony Dook charity before heading to the beach to watch the fun unfold and unfold it did. I thought the cold weather might lower the numbers but it was as busy as ever.

I even ran into a fellow Blipper which was brill. Nice to meet you Postie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.