Scribbler

By scribbler

Women of Gravity

Work of two women artists at Laura Russo Gallery, with a photo of the eponymous Laura.

I went looking for something mocha-colored at the gallery today.
Then I looked up the definition of the word.
The first meaning is, "Mocha is a type of fine-quality coffee."

Laura Russo is a type of fine-quality gallery, and Laura was a type of fine-quality art dealer. I visited her gallery often, and she was always gracious and knowledgeable. She gathered a wonderful group of artists, and the gallery continues to exhibit some of the best work in the Pacific Northwest. When I walked into one of the offices today to look at the art on the wall, I was moved by the picture of Laura in that same office. And to top it off, she's wearing a mocha sweater.

On the left, top and bottom: details of works on paper by Margot Voorhies Thompson (known for her calligraphic mark-making and use of lettering including a remarkable alphabet of her own invention); center: detail of maiolica ceramic by Connie Kiener (who draws and paints wonderful images on clay).


CHALLENGES

Anniemay+Mollymay
Mocha

DDW: Where I Live
I live at the gallery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.