Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Hoy and the Old Man...

Many people gathered for the ferry, regulars and tourist alike, some with cameras and some just happy to take in the spectacle of watching Eider Ducks doing their morning preening in the mirror-like waters of Houton Ferry Port.

On the ferry I meet up with Colin who was leading a group of 60 plus year old walkers on a Walking Holiday around the Orkneys and the Shetlands. I was invited to walk with them, if I could catch them up! The challenge was laid down, but I was not aware that we would be walking from different points on the hill at Rackwick Bay, which is on the far side from where the ferry berths at Lyness. When did I catch them up? When they stopped for lunch at the Old Man of Hoy, over looking the sea-stack that two climber were ascending.

The walk was not one where you could admire the view for long as the path was rather a boulder littered path, you just needed to watch where you putting your feet and good walking boots was a must have on this amble. There was a sign that said ‘Dangerous Cliffs’ and they were only about twenty foot away, so I found myself involuntary walking on the right-hand side of the path. As I walked I saw for the first time a large mottled brown seabird, which I later learnt was a Great Skua.

Lunch was with the thirteen sixty-plus year walkers and talked about life, the church and Police Chaplaincy with a lady, whose son was training for ministry in Cambridge for the Church of England and Police Chaplaincy in Warwickshire. In total there were thirty-five people and one dog visiting the Old Man of Hoy today.

On my way back to pick up the ferry at Lyness, I paid my respects to Betty Corrigall’s grave, and also the Lyness Naval Cemetery, of World War One and Two. By 1940 over 12,000 and civilian personal were stationed here in this part of the Scapa Flow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.