Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

My Favorite Perch

Today is raining heavily and so I don’t fancy going outside for a blip, so I give you my favourite perch. I sit on this window ledge and watch the world go by.

Christina emailed me a few snaps from yesterday’s teaching session. I would love to have blipped one, but the rules do not allow, so I have put them in folio for your enjoyment.

Some interesting questions asked. One of the questions was ‘What do you think of Japan’. I turned the question around and asked the kids the same – silence. I then asked, “Do you like Japan”? The answer was a loud, unison “NO”!!!

I then asked about USA and UK, the answer was indifference, not what I was expecting. I then asked, “What do you think USA thinks about China”, and told them that the rest of the world was nervous about China. This was actually a big surprise to these kids.

We then did some history and geography of the world, discussing the reasons for these attitudes and how wrong and futile they were. We then learned a new word, ‘Cosmopolitan’ and discussed the meaning of this word and its importance as an attitude, combined with the importance of learning English.

We all learned some new stuff worth knowing – great fun!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.