Bishop's mitre

Lovely day again today with glorious sunshine, and warm temperatures. I spent most of the day at Brinsbury college (near Pulborough) open day. I spent a lot of the time on the Horsham Natural History society stand, but I did get a chance to go round the stalls, and spend some time with Juby, Stuart, Robyn and the kids which was great fun! but I didn't get any decent pics.
After we got home I went for a quick trip to Southwater country park, which was wonderful!
There were so many interesting things to see in the long grasses, many of which I plan to blip over the next few weeks, but in the end I decided to blip another shield bug for you the beautiful Bishop's mitre - Aelia acuminata.
These beautiful little shieldbugs are named literally for their similarity to medieval heraldic shapes.
According to Google it is large and a distinctive yellowish and greyish brown colour with longitudinal stripes about 8-10 mm long with an obvious pointed head.
it is widespread and common throughout Southern UK in rough grassland , and sometimes becoming a pest.
I especially love these little shieldbugs, and I was well pleased to see one today, even if he has lost some of his antennae!
Another shieldbug tick on the list!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.