Northern Exposure

By Northern

Himalayan poppy

Last year we managed to make it along to the Orkney College horticultural department's plant sale and picked up a load of plants for a great price.

All of them have taken and survived and seem to be doing well but the one I'm most surprised about is this Himalayan poppy which we picked up as an experiment.

I'm not sure why I'm surprised that it is doing well as on paper our garden should suit it nicely but then we have lots of plants that should do well and just wither and die in our exposed conditions, even those that thrive elsewhere in Orkney. I suppose that this one looks so exotic I thought it was doomed to failure but no, it survived the winter and is now is looking colourful and glamorous.

I'm going to buy some more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.