Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Kindness and surprises

This morning, when leaving the supermarket, I saw some beautiful blue and white stocks in the flower buckets. I love stocks and had to stop myself from going over and sniffing them or begging to have some because we were in a hurry and Richard had to go to work.

This evening when Richard came home from work, he was carrying a box that had been delivered to the shop but addressed to me. We were both mystified as it soon became clear it was a flower delivery and there's no special occasion happening here this week.

The first things I saw when I opened the box were blue and white stocks! I looked at the card and was really moved to see that the flowers had been sent as a kind of "just to let you know we're thinking about you" gesture from someone I didn't really know.

That person is called Jane and I'd like to thank her very very very much indeed for thinking about me and understanding that I've been going through some stuff recently.
Jane used to live locally with her family and knew Richard but she and I didn't know each other.

It's a complete happy coincidence that the flowers are the same type I saw and lusted over this morning. So I'm especially thrilled. But most of all I'm touched and moved to think that someone somewhere has thought about me wanted to let me know somehow. It's so nice to be reminded that the world is mostly made up of good and nice people doing good and nice things just to be good and nice because they are good and nice and for no other reason.

I hope Jane sees this and knows what a perfect surprise it was



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.