Cedar Waxwing

I got up early so I could be at the golf course by 9:30 to meet three friends for a morning of bridge. I used to play regularly with them as a substitute on Tuesday mornings but then my life got more complicated and my Tuesdays were no longer free. Now some have opened again so I was able to go this morning. It was great to play again. It took longer than usual because the club had to find a place for us. Our usual room was full of Kiwanis Club members. Ditto several other rooms. Finally we got to play in one of the restaurants. We had fun. I started with lousy cards but quickly my luck turned and I ended up winning.

My friend Jane and I stayed after and had lunch at the club. They make the best crab cakes I have ever had. They are 90% crab and just delicious. After lunch I went to the Farmer's Coop to pick up cat food and bird seed. Then I headed home to greet Arvin. Helena was out at a meeting.

I spent most of the rest of the day in my studio getting ten paintings ready for a show next month at Allied Arts. I am sharing the walls with two other artists. The opening is the first Friday in June. Should be a good show.

Arvin and I took a walk down to Scudder Pond before dinner. While we were there we saw a flock of Cedar Waxwings. I counted seven of them in one tree. They are such beautiful birds. I photographed the group and then off they flew. We kept walking and I spotted this one in a tree closer to us.

We got home after seven. My brother Steve had arrived so I cobbled up some left overs for dinner. After dinner Steve and I played Carcassonne and then we all watched some TV. We watched a new show called "Riot," a funny slapstick comedy where comedians act out skits in some very strange situations. It is funny and we laughed a great deal.

Now it is quite late and I'm heading off to bed. Tomorrow I paint which always makes me happy. I'm still behind on comments and will be for some time. On Thursday our good friend Ian arrives from the Netherlands for a two week visit.

Thanks to all of you who keep dropping by. Lately I've been visiting journals without leaving comments. I do love seeing your photos. I've been giving what I call "stealth stars" to ones I really like and hearts to my favorites. I plan to keep doing this as I really don't have time to comment much right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.