Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Hampshire country churchyard

Yes, I guess it is a subject rather on my mind at the mo, but I have been thinking for some time I'd like to do a blip project connected to the 1914 commemorations.

As it's unlikely I'll get to tour the war cemeteries in France and Belgium this year I thought I'd concentrate on the other side of remembrance - the loss felt, and memories held, by those left behind. You can see, in your mind's eye, can't you, the families - fathers mourning their sons, wives husbands, children fathers, and in the conventional English way, coming to church on Sundays to deposit their grief in quiet country churchyards (sorry about these mental pictures - I blame novels, myself!).

This was taken early this morning before the mist lifted in the churchyard of St Swithun's at Headbourne Worthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.