analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Cormorant. GX1, Leitz Elmar 135mm

I was down by the river this morning looking for Blip material. At a distance, I saw several large, dark birds sitting at the top of a dead tree right on the river bank. Slowly, so as not to flush them, I made my way closer and closer until I was almost directly under the tree. Cormorants! I have always thought of them as coastal birds and here is a group several miles up-river from the sea. Wiki tells me that their ancestors preferred fresh water. Who knew that they would (or could, for that matter) perch in trees? This is obviously a good spot to watch for fish a-jumping. During the time I was there, they made several trips to the water. Unfortunately though, no fish for them - or me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.