GOLDEN VENUS

The predicted rain arrived this morning . I decided to have a day at home and go out tomorrow. However I got a phone call to let me know that my online order for potting compost and bark chippings is going to be delivered tomorrow. As I didn't want to stay at home for 2 days I did venture out today. In the end it didn't rain much while I was out but it was a lot colder than it has been for a while.

I went to Newcastle. Not for anything particular - just a mooch about. Got off the bus in a different part of town for a change and came upon my blip shot.

This wonderful golden clock was added to the outside of Northern Goldsmiths on the corner of Clayton Street and Westgate Road in the early 1930s. It is finished in 24ct gold leaf and is surmounted by a "life-size" golden lady, said to be the Roman goddess Venus. The overall height is around 14 ½ft and it’s weight a huge one and a half tons. The landmark is one of a pair in Newcastle with the other sitting outside the Northern Goldsmiths at the corner of Pilgrim Street and Blackett Street. Go LARGE for a closer look.

The clock in my blip has been slowly deteriorating for years. In 2006 the base fell off narrowly missing a pedestrian. Apparently responsibility for the repairs is a grey area and no one really wants to foot the bill. It really deserves to be returned to its former glory - it would be great to look up and see it showing the correct time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.