A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Original Recycling

I haven't been out her today except to bring in the mornings milk delivery.

I was struck by the label on the one on the right which I don't think I've seen before.
It says ' Your milk man has been thinking of his carbon footprint for over 50 years' and ' The glass bottle. The friendliest way to buy your milk!'

I couldn't are more thouhg I,am aware that everyone doesn't have the choice but I would take issue with people who buy from the supermarket because it is cheaper.

I had farm bottled milk Jersey milk ( gold top ) as a child as I was born on a small dairy farm with a Jersey herd. It was untreated and we continued to have un pasteurised milk well into my married life. We are more health conscious now and get skimmed milk and although it is no longer farm bottled it is still delivered daily in the recyclable glass bottle.

I know people in other countries have commented on how remarkable this is so I thought it would make this my blip today. I hope this tradition continues for at least all of my life!

The weather is still awful and I think of the poor couple getting married in our church as I type. The production went really well last night with almost a full house. ( I'm aware some people think that putting on a mini play about Noah and his Ark may be responsible for this weather!) We had to put everything back for the wedding today and for that I thank the cast who did a great job in record time, so I will be going out in the awful bank holiday weekend weather soon to set it up again for tonight's performance.

If you are in the UK I hope you see a little sun at some point over the next two days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.