The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

EGM

Another last minute decision today.

David Moffett held a press conference today. Originally I wasn't going as the conference was scheduled for 11am, I had too much work to do. It then got moved to 2pm, so I changed my mind. I am so glad I did. It was another fascinating afternoon with the man they call Moffett!

They managed to get 51 calls for an EGM returned and signed. After the conference was finished, we walked down Westgate Street to deliver the call for the EGM. The biggest number of cubs ever to call for one in the history of the WRU.

If you ever wanted a lesson in how to shoot yourself in the foot, then you could get no better teacher than the WRU. Instead of allowing him to pass and hand in the call for an EGM with the minimum of fuss, they cited security issues with the Heineken Cup Final there on Saturday and he had to hand it over on the pavement. It was TV gold!

The phoney war is over now ... the EGM has to happen, and the WRU have to answer to a lot of questions. I have no idea how it will pan out, but I never though it would get this far when I got involved ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.