Cevahir, Istanbul, Cameras and Yo Yo Ma

Karen and I went to Cevahir shopping mall this morning where we had a preliminary inspection of available compact cameras and then a nice lunch on the sixth floor to think it over and then both bought a Fujifilm Finepix F660 that I will Blip with tomorrow. It has a better zoom & macro than my Panasonic Lumix DMC SZ-7 which also now has marks on the sensor that often ruins the shot (you can see the smudge in the sky here).

My jury is still out on whether I really want an 'amateur' DSLR (e.g. Canon 100D) or a 'professional' compact (e.g. Panasonic Lumix TZ60) for a more serious attempt at photography. Any Blippers' advice or comments would really be most welcome. I bought a mirrorless 4/3 Fujifilm X-M1 last February but don't get on with it very well - I don't understand why, it is clearly a very nice camera and my friend loves his - but I gave up and went back to using my Lumix. I will probably sell the X-M1 as I think I made the wrong choice. A camera is very personal isn't it? Rather like buying a new car without taking it for a test drive first to see if you like the way it handles - or choosing between Mischa Maisky and Yo Yo Ma playing Bach.

aha, I see I am rambling. T'is but procrastination as a preventative measure in the knowledge that my dissertation awaits....... but then,

“You can't just turn on creativity like a faucet. You have to be in the right mood.
What mood is that?
Last-minute panic.”
― Bill Watterson

ho ho ho

A lovely sunny day with a surprise shower in the middle whilst we were inside the mall. Weird @ 24ºC

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.