The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood 2014 #15

I discovered at Tractor Ted's that the Shetland ponies  Twinkle and Sparkles had now gone to their new home, but that Buttons and Smarties would not now be replacing them. They were looking for something to replace them but had temporarily borrowed Winnie, a twenty year old white pony from a farm near Corsham. They also had a new unnamed ewe with two lambs (only one visible in my picture).

There was a huge conversation going on between the Canada geese on the grass and on the lake when I walked down Lake Field to the lake. My presence may have been the cause, as some of the geese were sitting on nests and some already had goslings. They quietened down after I had been sitting on a lakeside bench writing for awhile, but when I walked between one goose and his partner nesting some way away on the edge of the water, he ran after me hissing and pointing his bill upwards at me until I had safely passed the expectant mother.

It probably wasn't a coincidence that this group of geese and goslings took to the safety of the water when I approached, but they were soon back on land again.

L.
27.5.2014 (2318 hr)

Blip #1274
Consecutive Blip #136
Day #1513


Lens: Pentax 17-70mm

Bowood 2014 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2014 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Fennesz - Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) (1998)
Pet Sounds was released on this day in 1966, and in its honour this is a piece inspired by one of the songs on the Beach Boys' masterpiece, created by Christian Fennesz, a Viennese guitarist who uses notebook computers to make eerie glitchy layered compositions that subvert melody with electronic white noise and strident random sounds.
Fennesz describes Brian Wilson's Don't Talk as "one of the most beautiful ballads ever made. Everything that makes a pop ballad work is there, in the most perfect way. It was a big challenge to do a version in a respectful way, without destroying it, but doing it in my own style. I really had to play it. First I tried to transcribe the whole arrangement, then I recorded every part. There are no samples of the original".

One year ago: Fluffy 1124hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.