Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Dragon Flight

Despite the increased complexity of this VISA run to Hong Kong, everything went very smoothly, with all the items on my spread-sheet checklist being ticked off with very little effort or incident. I literally had nothing to write about, especially as my VISA runs usually provide such entertainment to many of my readers.

All that changed however as I was sitting in my Hong Kong hotel room, passing time before the final day’s push. I received a phone call from my boss, informing me that the job was cancelled and most unlikely to go ahead, with the Chinese client refusing to sign the contract.

I am absolutely confident that the client will do the honourable thing and pay us for the work we have done so far (ouch! Bit my lip!).

My boss has told me to go back to work and continue for as long as the other Chinese staff are working on the job. With my bosses assurance of being paid, this is fine by me. In the meantime, he is looking for another job for me and the stress build-up has been alleviated. So here I am, back in the office, pumping out pearls of wisdom for the client. My object must always be to keep the people who are actually paying me happy and do what they ask.

I had a go at inflight dragon shooting at lunch time, using the active auto-focus feature, but it was just not fast enough or accurate enough with this relatively small subject. It probably works fine with racing cars and footballers, but useless for dragon hunting. Manual, zone focusing is still the best method of capturing an in-flight dragon.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.