4 LUV of Life

By Russ

40 years ago was one of my worst days

40 years ago, today I got a call around 10AM, stating that my dad was dying. It was one on the worst days of my life. The letter is incorrect from the Navy Hospital in that he died later that evening. It was dark & we took mom back to her house(less than 3 miles) to get a jacket & some food & dad had passed while we drove those 3 miles. Top photo was of dad when he was a school custodian. Bottom photos are my mom (Goldie) my wife & sister at the grave site. 14 yrs. without her beloved (Rebel) Walter Bound & mom went to join him. Genetic history would have suggested both would have lived into their late 80's or 90's but both also suffered from questionable medical situations. Sadly, dad did not live to see any of his grandchildren which would have given him so much joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.