Blanket...

For the first time ever, I've had a complaint about FT's Sunday roast. More than one in fact. Several people have told me that they're sick of looking at fresh meat... not a phrase I've ever heard before! Ha!

I'll catch up tomorrow. I've decided that I'm going to please myself all day long. I've done the housework, changed the bed mmm... clean sheets, done the dishes and a washing. I considered cleaning the bathroom. I decided against it. Good decision.

I also went to Ikea and bought this blanket.

FOR MY NEW CAR!!!! ❤️

Well not FOR my new car, that would be stupid. He doesn't need a blanket. But it's a striped blanket and I just couldn't help myself.

In case you missed it... I BOUGHT A NEW CAR!!

I'm so excited, I could literally pop. Like literally. I've never had a new car. Well he's not brand new, he's a year old, someone else took the bigger hit. But he's all shiny and pretty and he's gonna make me grin for many years to come.

I don't need a car. I live in the city centre so I can get around on my feet or on a bus never a tram so a car is a total luxury for me. A luxury I want to enjoy.

I've always bought second more like fourth hand cars and my last two have been VW Golfs. Both cars have been ace. My current set of wheels has almost been to the moon with 236,000 miles on the clock and he's still going strong. He has a year's tax, a year's MOT (did I get the apostrophes right?), and he now has a fabulous new home. I shall say farewell on Thursday.

I hope to collect Barney next weekend all being well. He's a very cute VW Beetle and he's coming home to live with me. I can barely contain myself.

When I said I was about to pop with excitement, I wasn't exaggerating. I feel a little guilty sometimes, it's such an extravagance, but I rid myself of that momentary guilt and remember that I've longed for a Beetle almost my entire life.

The couple of dreams I've had since I was wee, have always just remained dreams. Until now. Today it dawned on me that the one thing I've wished for forever, is actually happening. I couldn't decide if it's a bit sad to be so excited over a car, but I am and I've decided I don't care. I going to allow myself to be stupidly excited, grinning from ear to ear every time I think about it. It's been a long time since I've felt like a kid on Christmas Eve, unable to sleep with the concentration span of a two year old. The anticipation, the simple awesomeness that I'm going to drive a car that I love to the moon and back.

There are people in my life who have made my dreams possible. They know who they are. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. It's not enough of course, there are not enough words to thank you for the love and support I have every day from many corners. I love you all. x

Follow your dreams, they can come true.
Me.


Oh... and isn't it a really cool blanket to go in my REALLY COOL CAR!

*does a little dance*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.