Surprise Guest

This morning I was enjoying the sun on the deck. I had moved my chair so I had a better view of the jays eating the peanuts I had put on the table. Then I heard something to the right behind me. I turned to look and there, right on the railing, no more than three feet away, sat a large female Pileated Woodpecker. She was dancing around a bit, looking this way and that. She was right there. She was there because of her love of peanut butter suet. She looked at me. She looked around. And then she leapt up on the suet feeder. I was facing away from her so very very slowly I turned toward her and grabbed a few shots. The first few were without even looking. Then I extended the camera's screen so I could take a few more before she flew off. She was backlit and dark. I couldn't make any changes in the exposure level to compensate because I couldn't really move without sending her off.

After she did fly, I went in the house to call Ian since he is an avid birder. He came upstairs and the two of us went out and sat on the step outside the sliding door waiting to see if she would come back. She did! And settled to feed on the other suet feeder. We both snapped away. The lighting was better and it was easier to see her face. I can't believe how bold she was and how unfazed by our presence. I put all three of the photos I took on Chaikins of Bellingham.

I almost forgot to thank you all for your comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's photo of the sparrows. It made the spotlight and it has been a long time since that has happened. I really appreciate all your visits, especially since I've been very busy and not able to comment often. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.