Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Street

Riding a motorbike with no helmet, while using a hand phone while riding on the pavement. How wrong is that! Apparently not that wrong, as I could shoot this scene any time I want.

This is an electric bike and the law treats these as push bikes. There is no licence required, no training required and no test required, no insurance and they can ride where ever they want.

When the traffic lights turn to red, these bikes move, to take advantage of the lag between changing lights. The road gets jammed up with them. I thought Indonesia rods were chaotic, but this place is almost as bad.

But, the pavement thing tips the balance and I feel very unsafe simply walking through the shopping center. If you want to change direction while walking, you have to check behind or you are likely to be hit. A big problem is that the bikes are electric and so there is no sound.

Good for the environment with some 90% of motorbikes being electric, but I really think that the authorities should re-think the freedom of use, it is a huge safety issue with literally thousands needlessly killed on the roads every year. Personally I have seen at least one accident involving an electric bike per week since I have been here, probably more.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.