Sky plus

I changed my picture from a man paddling to this one of the Red Arrows over Falmouth.

I've spent the last couple of days at the Pendennis Cup in Cornwall. I nearly missed my boat when I got chatting to this chap, a captain of square riggers from Tasmania on holiday in the UK. In fact I did miss my boat but they came back for me. After sailing in the fleet yesterday, today it was in to a power boat, perfect for getting around the yachts on the water and stylish in its own right, yours for £400,000.

Some beautiful light on the yachts this morning, then the wind kicked in and the Red Arrows arrived to cap the day off nicely.

The team came in yesterday after flying for two days from Cyprus and joined us on the yacht Christopher, then came along for a curry in town - great guys who had time for everyone they met. They always travel in formation and there'd been quite a lot of cloud around on the way. If they lose sight of the aircraft alongside they must peel off and head above the clouds, then reform. They took off from Newquay airport just before my flight, heading for their home base at RAF Scampton in Lincolnshire.

Still many more pics to load in to my galleries but I've enjoyed doing some of the older yachts in monochrome to give a feel for their era. I like these events, they contrast nicely with the usual stuff of walking the dog, gardening and writing, but it's nice to be home again. Time to get the lawnmower out.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.