First Cut

It was a rather muted kind of day. My trip away was predicated upon getting some work finished by the beginning of this next week and I had to push that forward today. I'm still designing so I was able to do some of that outside while watching the cricket today. The match was quite compelling so it wasn't quite as productive as I'd hoped it would be!

The first team put in a great bowling display against Otley, the league leaders, constraining them to 160-9 - although having had them really struggling at 87-7, with a bit of luck it could have been a lot less. Sadly, the batsmen couldn't emulate the success of the bowlers and we were reduced to 28-6 before a rally to finally reach 130. Forrest was bowled for just a single. I was devastated for him. Today was an important test for him. It wasn't much consolation to be telling him that he was up against the best team fired up in a very good league.

Meanwhile, like last Monday, I missed a victory by the away side. Roam captained his team to a fine victory against New Rover in Leeds, taking four wickets himself, his best haul of the season. On another day I would have cycled over there to watch but I just didn't have the energy. I'd taken a run on the moor in the morning, the legs feeling very heavy, and that told me to take it easy again. I'm really trying to listen to my body more. I hope I'm doing the right thing. I'm assuming my body knows best. Sometimes I'm not so sure!!

The weather didn't feel very summery today. It was distinctly chilly at times. It looks like we have one day of summer tomorrow before more rain arrives. The farmers seem to be making the most of a little window of opportunity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.