WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Green room

The neighbouring village today celebrated one of its sons, Jean l'Atacien, a far from leading figure in the Occitan Félibre movement. He was a poet, playwright, musician, printer, and publisher of small magazines, born in 1860; a couple of older people in the village can just remember him A plaque in his honour was unveiled, and a band played a few of Jean's compositions. The Occitan anthem Se Canto was then duly sung as an introduction to the inevitable aperitif. The choir was only a dozen people, but here I have to include a link to a Se Canto Géant in Toulouse, because it is so wonderful.

Later in the afternoon there was due to be a performance of a play by Jean l'Atacien. I missed the play, but as I was walking by the open-air theatre, I caught these two young people practising their lines. I love the verdant green arch surrounding the stage.

Edit: last year's blip was also an outdoor performance of a rather different kind. Still one of my favourites blips.

PS: bonus spare blip that I inexplicably like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.