HORSE CHESTNUT

Neil arrived about 2am and stayed the night. He arrived with chips and a kebab. I could have quite happily eaten his chips - but I resisted temptation. He has been at work today until 7pm and came here afterwards. Staying the night again. He has a weeks holiday to look forward to. He has nothing planned but I think he will just be glad to be able to relax.

Weather was dull at first but the sun came out later. I went for a little walk and took my blip shot of a horse chestnut tree in the grounds of the Special School.

As its the first of the month I was reminded of my Mam who always used to say to me " A pinch and a punch for the first of the month". I wondered what it meant and found out that it originates from old England times when people thought that witches existed. People thought that salt would make a witch weak, so the pinch part is pinching of the salt, and the punch part was to banish the witch. The witch would be weak from the salt so the punch was to banish her.

I also remember an elderly spinster lady who used to work in my office saying "Rabbit rabbit white rabbit” on the first of each month. Apparently this is so you will receive good luck for the remainder of that month. This superstition is related to the broader belief in the rabbit being a “lucky” animal, as exhibited in the practice of carrying a rabbit's foot for luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.